|Ohio's Point System For Traffic Violations||
Points charged for traffic violations
In July, 1996, Ohio's speed limits were raised to 65 mph on designated urban interstates and rural highways for passenger vehicles and commercial buses. As a result, the point system for moving violations was updated by the Ohio Department of Public Safety.
Any Ohio driver convicted of a traffic violation is assessed a specific number of penalty points according to the type of violation. If convicted of a second or subsequent offense within two years after the first violation, the point assessment for the new violation is added to the driver's previous total. For example, if you were cited for speeding in excess of the speed limit and were given two points for the violation, and within two years were cited for drag racing, your total point accumulation would be eight.
The points for specific moving violations follow.
Violating any prima facie speed limit (safe for existing road conditions) is a two-point violation. Violations of the absolute speed limit come under a progressive point system.
Point system for 55 mph speed limit areas
The top chart below shows the progressive point system for areas with a posted speed limit of 55 mph, including vehicles weighing more than 8,000 pounds.
Point system for 65 mph speed limit areas
Motorists receive two points if they exceed 75 mph on their first offense in areas posting a maximum speed of 65 mph. If a driver violates the law again within a one-year period, the graduated point system is enforced. This point system is only enforced on Ohio interstates outside of urban areas, and applies to cars and other vehicles weighing under 8,000 pounds. The second chart below provides the graduated point system for 65 mph zones.
Note: These charts show the points assigned as recommended by statute. Judges have the final jurisdiction as to the actual number of points issued.
A driver having six points will receive a letter from the Registrar of Motor Vehicles indicating the following penalties should 12 or more points be accumulated within a two-year period:
Driving under suspension
Operating a motor vehicle while a license is under suspension is a first degree misdemeanor. If convicted, the driver is subject to a fine of up to $1,000 or six months in jail, or both. The violator may also be sentenced to an additional one-year drivers license suspension.
A driver who accumulates more than five but no more than 11 points for traffic violations is eligible for a one-time, two-point credit by completing an approved remedial driving course.
The two-point "credit" offered through this program doesn't erase any convictions from a person's official driving record and doesn't eliminate any prior convictions that an insurance company may take into consideration in premium assessments. All convictions remain on the driver's record, but the points needed for the 12-point suspension are extended by two.
Source: Ohio Department of Public Safety's Digest of Motor Vehicle Laws
The home of the first manual "stop and go" sign is Detroit in 1914. Later that year, the first electric signal was installed in Cleveland.
Each year 1.9 million moving violations are reported to the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles. They range from speeding to DUIs.